A New Pen for my Dad (Story Time)

It is my dad’s birthday soon, so I decided to get him a little present, something cheap, but with a lot of “value” for him. (We avoid spending money on material presents and we usually do travelling or experiences/activities as presents, but still).

He saw me writing letters the other day to my penpals, and he told me how much he misses the feeling of writing with a fountain pen, and how much he misses letters and having penpals.

When he was young, the only “pen” medium were the fountain pens, and he studied abroad so he used to write letters every day to friends and family.

But, life happened, he had a family, worked crazy hours to support everyone (nothing to complain about or any hardships, had a great life), but nonetheless, he gave up most of the things he liked in his personal time in order to spend time with his family.

So…

I got him a basic fountain pen, till he gets used to it again, and a couple of ink cartridges at least before he decides on a good pen and some ink bottles (everything in blue as it is his favourite colour). Also, I created a couple of penpal profiles for him so I can get some people to write letters to him as a surprise in the hopes that now that he is retired, he will have the time to write again, play with inks, and find some new friends through letters 🙂

He has been an amazing dad, so I hope that this little gesture will brighten his birthday ^_^

Just thought to share this with you, since you probably find solace in fountain pens too 🙂

P.s. My dad does not know I have this blog (yet) so it is “safe” to post without doing him a spoiler.

The items pictured are:
– Kaweco Classic Sport Fountain Pen – Navy – Fine Point
– J. Herbin ink cartridges – Bleu Pervenche
– Kaweco ink cartridges – Paradise Bleu

Leave a comment